Smashbox Limitless Liquid Liner Pen

image
image

So I went into Naimies looking for a nice liquid liner. I really like the liquid liner pens for numerous reasons; 1.) In my opinion it gives me more control in creating a perfect line; 2.) I can use them on clients and not have to worry about contamination and double dipping. I just spray it with 99% alcohol, wipe it clean and I’m good to go; 3.) I find that liner pens don’t bleed as much as the others. Anyhow, I tested the Lorac Liner pen and I absolutely loved it. I loved the brush on the pen and I loved how black the ink was. Of course, my luck, they were sold out. So the associate suggested the Smashbox liner pen to me. I liked it but you know how it is when you have your heart set on something? Nothing else compares to what you want. So I bought the Smashbox liner anyways because I needed a black liquid liner and I’m an impulse shopper.

image
image

I like the liner, it’s really black and it gives a really good line. I like this liner pen much better than the Mac Penultimate Pen because the Smashbox pen gives a nice pigmented line with one or two strokes. However this is supposed to be waterproof and it’s not to my standards of waterproof. My definition of waterproof is, I can submerge myself into water and the product will look the same when I come up. Granted the liner doesn’t move or smudge throughout wear but if you rub it enough it does smudge. I would think this wouldn’t work too well for those with oily lids. I haven’t had problems with this on my oily lids but I always use primers on my eyes. I washed the swatch with soap and water and it easily came off without much scrubbing. So I do not agree with the claim that it is waterproof. Maybe water resistant, to the minimum, but not water proof. I like the Smashbox pen. It serves it’s purpose though I am not 100% happy with my purchase.

Pros:
Easy application
Makes small or thick lines
Strong Black Color

Cons:
Not Waterproof
Not great for oily lids
Washes off easily

My final grade for this Product is B-

Does anyone have a preference of liquid liner? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “Smashbox Limitless Liquid Liner Pen

  1. the mac penultimate pen is awful! but I also really like the lorac pro pen, it’s the best pen liner I’ve tried. for whatever reason I’m not interested in smashbox products, but if I go to sephora and the lorac liner is sold out, I may just try this one.

    • I agree with you! Smashbox is usually a hit or miss for me. And Yes, Mac’s liner pen is probably the worst I’ve tried now that I have used other brands. This is definitely worth a try, especially if you can return it if you change your mind. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts 🙂

  2. I prefer gel liners – Caryl Baker Visage’s gel liner is my favorite – it doesn’t friggin’ budge! Coming in at a close second would have to be the Lancome art deco pen (if they still sell it) – it’s an actual liquid liner, but the pen is ridiculously precise!

    • I like gel liners too but I have a hard time finding gel liners with good pigmentation. I love the Makeup Forever Aqua Cream and the Bobbi Brown Gel liners. I’ve never heard of the Caryl Baker brand! I have heard good things about the Lancôme Art Deco liner. I’ll have to check that out as well! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

