Mac Electric Cool Eyeshadow

image

These new eyeshadows from Mac are very interesting. They’re like a powder, cream hybrid. It doesn’t have the feel or consistency of a cream eyeshadow like a paint pot or an aqua cream yet it’s definitely not a powder eyeshadow. I wasn’t interested in the Big Bounce Eyeshadows that came out some months ago so I can’t really compare the two but from what I tested in the store, the Electric Cool shadows give a more even coverage, are more smooth in texture and gives a better wear time.

The texture of these eyeshadows are like when you press into a squishy pillow or mattress..that’s the only what I can describe them. They aren’t wet but they look wet and creamy. It’s like wet pigments without the wet feeling. The colors are pretty bold with lots of shimmer. One thing I love about these is that despite having a lot of shimmer/glitter, there’s no fallout issues with eyeshadows.  One thing that annoyed me was one of my shadows looked cracked and melted when I opened it. The associates at the store said some pots may look like the one shown below but you can reshape them by pressing them back into place with your fingers. But for me, when I buy something new I want it to look new. Thank God for Mac’s excellent return policy. I exchanged this with no problem. If you’re anal like me with these things I’d check your product before purchasing just to be safe.

image

Brilliantly Lit: I opened the box and found this.

image

Superwatt

image

Fashion Circuit

The shades:
Brilliantly Lit is pretty shimmery yellow chartreuse color.
Fashion Circuit is a gorgeous green teal color.
Superwatt is a gorgeous shimmery Taupe color. It’s a beautiful neutral everyday color.

I like the packaging these come in. They aren’t the usual Mac eyeshadow pots that flip open and closed. The pot is a lot smoother with a twist off top. I really like these pots better maybe because I like novelty.

Application can be a bit of a pain. Finding a go to way to apply takes some time. The eyeshadow apply better with a synthetic flat brush, like the Mac 242 or the like. With a natural hair brush or a fluffy brush, it doesn’t pack the color on the lid because the brush doesn’t pick up enough color. I also got pretty good color applying with my fingers but this took more work than I’d like. During the testing phase I used these with and without eye primers. I was pretty impressed that the color lasted about 4 or 5 hours without an eye primer and the color didn’t fade much. I actually liked how this applied over the Nars Smudgeproof primer. The color went on really smooth and even. With a paint pot I thought the color was a bit uneven but still pretty. However I do not like two or three Electric Cool shadows blended together because it was a bit trying to get them to blend smoothly. I feel they are best used alone as a wash of color, maybe using a different texture shadow with the ECS’s to create some depth.

Overall I liked the Electric Cool Eyeshadows, though not in love with them. The colors are bright and lovely but they lose some points for the application. The texture is interesting, though a bit gimmicky, but its a nice addition to the collection. By no means a must have but they’re fun. These are perfect for a nice shimmery lid for a night out. I’d never thought I’d say this but you really don’t need a primer with these, but it also wouldn’t hurt.  Just put on a nice wash of color with a synthetic brush or your fingers, add liner and mascara and you’re good to go!

image

Superwatt applied with a synthetic brush, over Nars Smudgeproof Primer

image

Brilliantly Lit and Fashion Circuit applied over Soft Ochre Paint Pot with a synthetic brush

image

Fashion Circuit applied with my finger, no primer

image

Fashion Circuit Packed on with a synthetic brush, no primer

image

Applied with a synthetic brush

image

Brilliantly Lit applied with fingers, no primer

image

Brilliantly Lit applied with fingers, no primer

Leave a Reply

