OCC Lip Tars

(L-R) Trollop, Melange, Memento, Belladonna

Company Description:
“A stunning new innovation in lip color, OCC Lip Tar combines the longevity of a lipstick, with the ease of application of a gloss. Goes on slick and moist, and dries down to a satin finish. Ultra-saturated in color, Lip Tar contains an unprecedented amount of pigment – a little goes a very, very long way! An intense yet featherweight layer of color that never looks or feels heavy. Meant to be mixed, Lip Tar comes in concise array of colors for a limitless selection of shades made by you! A simple, elegant formula that contains Hemp Oil, Peppermint Oil and Vitamin E, OCC Lip Tar feels as good on the lips as it looks!”

The colors I got are:

Memento– Plum toned pink.

Trollop:-Cranberry pink shade. Arguably my favorite of this bunch. I love this one because it brightens your face up so much. It’s bright and begs for attention.

Belladonna– Ultra Violet shade

Melange– A terracotta neutral shade

image

(L-R)Melange, Trollop, Memento, Belladonna

Product: I’ve been wanting to try these for quite some time but because I am weird about buying things online without trying the product first, I haven’t had the chance…until now! I’m sorry I waited so song to try these because I really do love these lip colors. They are bold, vibrant and give the lips full coverage. The genius of these are the different shades can be mixed together to create your own crazy or subtle unique shade. There are some shades that are really out there like the yellow, white, blue or orange that are made to be mixed. However they can definitely be worn alone if you’re bold enough to do so or for avant garde makeup looks. These are so unique and I love them for that. These are just fun!

image

Mixing a few shades together, (L)Melange and Trollop; (R)Belladonna and Memento

There is a subtle minty scent to these because of the peppermint oils but that fades within the first 20 minutes or so. When you put them on they glide over your lips and it feels like you aren’t wearing anything. The texture is light and smooth and it’s not glossy. It doesn’t look like a gloss despite being a liquid with many oils in them. It does dry to look like a lipstick. You only need a dime sized amount to get full coverage, maybe even less than that. They also can be used as blush and I feel you can use a tiny bit as a  corrector to get rid of those dark circles under your eyes because they aren’t glossy and they dry to a satin finish. For instance yellow would correct dark circles.

These have a long wear time too! I averaged my wear time about 5 hours before I noticed fading. With Trollop, I wore this for about 5 hours with no fading. Then I ate and drank and still had a good amount of color on my lips, though a bit uneven but the color was still apparent. So with brighter colors you get more wear time.

Packaging: They come in little tubes and have no applicator so you have to use your fingers or a lip brush to apply the product. These are great for traveling and storing because they are so small but I don’t like the tubes. It’s nothing major but it’s just my personal preference that I house all my lipsticks and glosses standing up together. I have to keep them in a basket separately. And sometimes when I take off the cap some product oozes out. Of course that won’t stop me from buying more!

Price: $14 for 0.33oz. That’s actually a good price when compared to other brands like Mac where you pay $14.50 for 0.17oz of product. And with lip tars, when you’re running out of product you can squeeze the tube to get most if not all the product out. You don’t have to scrape and fight to get that little bit out the tube. We all want to get our money’s worth, right?!

image

Wearing Trollop

image

Wearing Melange

image

Wearing Belladonna

image

Wearing Belladonna mixed with Trollop

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics

Final Grade: A

Product: 5/5

Packaging: 4/5

Price:4/5

I need more of these in my life!!

Leave a Reply

